What’s Your Pitch? A Picture-Perfect Introduction

Div Manickam
5 min readFeb 9, 2021
Picture Perfect Introduction

Aug 2021: Updated my picture perfect evolution below :)

We have all been faced with a simple statement: “Tell me a little bit about yourself.”

And I ask: “What exactly do you want to know about me? How much is too much information to share?”

I’m going to share a few examples of my picture-perfect introduction that started as an idea I heard from a sales leader a few years ago. I thought it was a brilliant idea to get to know more about your teammates and for them to get to know you. When ideas like this come your way, you nurture them in your own way, and doing so gives them wings to fly far and wide.

What Exactly Do You Want To Know About Me?

I called it the picture-perfect introduction. It started about three years ago with information about what I valued most. It was all about travel, motivational quotes and photos of places or food that I loved.

Then I had an event as a guest speaker at Cornell, and I pondered how to tell my story. And so I weaved in two more stories about my education and professional journey.

I shared my picture-perfect introduction as part of my interviews. And it was a nice way to get to know the hiring manager and for the hiring manager to get to know me…

--

--