Leadership is a privilege. Don’t take it for granted.

Div Manickam
4 min readOct 31, 2018
Ben Franklin Bridge — View from a prism at Race St Pier, Philadelphia

Thank you, John Durr, for challenging and guiding us in the Dell leadership training in Oct 2018. I had a chance to attend the 2-day training with inspiring leaders.

I am passionate about building a high performing and mindful team. I am an individual contributor who has ventured to be a people leader in the last 10months. I would like to share what I learned in the leadership training with the world! One message at a time.

Every day, as a leader, we are fortunate to INSPIRE our team towards a shared vision. INFLUENCE different teams to make the right decisions. And have an IMPACT on our customers and company growth.

As a peer who is now leading a team, there were definitely a few things I needed to reset after the training. It was tough to shift the mindset from an individual contributor to a people leader. I should not expect everyone to think like me, but coach them to be problem solvers in their own unique way. I am amazed at the confidence and the results.

I am passionate about building a high performing and mindful team, where it’s not just about results, but about relationships that we foster irrespective of the level in an organization. At most times, it comes down to intent vs perception. As a growing organization, it’s crucial to understand what is NOT tolerable and…

--

--